Senator Charles Perry: District 28

Senator Charles Perry

Occupation: Certified Public Accountant (CPA)
Education: Texas Tech University, BBA – Accounting and Management Information
Legislative Experience: House Member, 2011 – 2014; Senate Member, 2014 – present
Hometown: Lubbock
Party: Republican

Charles Perry, a practicing CPA from Lubbock, was first elected to the Texas Senate in 2014 after serving two terms in the Texas House of Representatives. A life-long West Texan, Perry is a movement conservative seeking to reduce waste and inefficiencies in government.

Perry currently chairs the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Water, and Rural Affairs. He was the first freshman to receive a chairmanship in the Texas Senate since 1993. He additionally sits on the Senate Committees on Criminal Justice, Health and Human Services, and Higher Education.

In the previous legislative session, Perry passed a total of 27 senate bills and 35 house bills, placing him in the top five senators for total number of bills passed. These bills included legislation to strengthen Second Amendment rights, protect our ballot box from voter fraud, stop the sale of illegal synthetic substances to our youth, and empower individuals with disabilities to save money and become more financially independent.

Additionally, Perry led the fight to put a stop to sanctuary cities which violate the rule of law through granting de-facto amnesty to criminal illegal immigrants, causing public safety concerns statewide. As a strong fiscal conservative, Perry led the way to reduce frivolous government spending by authoring legislation to enact zero-based budgeting for state agencies and limit increases in our budget to population growth plus inflation.

In addition to his work in the Legislature, Perry has served his community as president of the Lubbock Boys and Girls Club, American Business Clubs, Community Partners, on the board of the National Council on Family Violence, and the National Teen Dating Abuse Helpline. He is also a deacon at his church, Southcrest Baptist.

Perry grew up in in the district he currently represents, graduating from Sweetwater High School in 1980. In 1984, he earned his Bachelor of Business Administration in accounting and management information systems from Texas Tech University.

Perry has been married to his wife, Jacklyn for over 32 years and together they have a daughter, Jordan, and a son, Matthew. The entire family are graduates of Texas Tech University.

Geographically, Perry represents the largest Senate District in the State of Texas. There are a total of 51 counties in the district: Lubbock, Tom Green, Childress, Lamb, Hale, Floyd, Motley, Cottle, Hardeman, Foard, Wilbarger, Hockley, Crosby, Dickens, King, Knox, Baylor, Terry, Lynn, Garza, Kent, Stonewall, Haskell, Throckmorton, Dawson, Borden, Scurry, Fisher, Jones, Shackelford, Stephens, Mitchell, Nolan, Eastland, Sterling, Coke, Runnels, Coleman, Mcculloch, Concho, Irion, Reagan, Upton, Crane, Ward, Mason, Kimble, Menard, Schleicher, Sutton and Taylor (partial).


Press Room
[ Press Archives: 2015 | 2014 ]

Icon: Press ReleaseOctober 13, 2015
Senator Perry's Comments On Senate Interim Committees

Icon: Press ReleaseSeptember 29, 2015
Sen. Perry & Rep. Springer Support the Right to Display “In God We Trust”

Icon: Press ReleaseSeptember 21, 2015
Sen. Perry Appointed To Joint Committee To Study Border Security

Icon: Press ReleaseAugust 17, 2015
Sen. Perry Announces Several Town Hall Forums w/ Rep. Burrows

Icon: Press ReleaseJuly 7, 2015
Sen. Perry Announces 15 Town Halls with Rep. Springer

[ MORE ... ]



Icon: Press ReleaseNovember 10, 2014

Icon: Press ReleaseOctober 10, 2014

E-Mail Form


( )  

This form requires that javascript be enabled. Please enable javascript and reload this page.



Office Information

Capitol Address District Address (Lubbock)
The Honorable Charles Perry
P.O. Box 12068
Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
(512) 463-0128
(512) 463-2424 (fax)

Capitol Staff:
Scott Hutchinson (Chief of Staff)
Travis McCormick (Communications Director)
Matthew Dowling (Legislative Director)
Shannon Harmon (Office Manager/Scheduler)
Ryan Wallace (Policy Analyst)
11003 Quaker Avenue, #101
Lubbock, Texas 79424
(806) 783-9934

District Director: Robyn Tepper
District Address (San Angelo) District Address (Childress)
36 West Beauregard #510
San Angelo, Texas 76903
(325) 481-0028

District Director: Pam Dutton
119 Avenue B NW
Childress, Texas 79201
(940) 937-0909

District Director: Jennifer Foster


84th Session Committee Membership


District Analysis: District 28

Icon: District Map
Click the map to view a detailed district map in PDF format